7 Natural Wonders of South America

South America is comprised of 12 countries occupying a land area of 6,890,000 square miles (17,840,000 sq, km). What are the seven natural wonders of South America? The 7 Natural Wonders of South America were declared to highlight some of the grandest, most unique and amazing features of nature. These were not selected because of media campaigns, marketing or any kind of sponsorship but rather statistical relevance highlighting the natural significance of each wonder.

harbor of
rio de janeiro

Harbor of Rio de Janeiro

The Harbor of Rio de Janeiro is one of the 7 Natural Wonders of the World and serves as the Ambassador to the wonders of south America.



Aconcagua is the tallest mountain in South America reaching a height of 22,837 feet (6,960.8 m). This also makes it the highest point in the Southern Hemisphere as well as the highest mountain outside of Asia.


Amazon River

The Amazon is a shared natural wonder between the Amazon River and the Amazon Rainforest. The Amazon River is the largest river in the world based on volume of water. It is further debated as being either the longest or second longest river in the world.


Angel Falls

Angel Falls is the tallest uninterrupted waterfall reaching a height of 3,211 feet (979 m). It has a an initial plunge of 2,368 feet (807 m) followed by sloped cascades to account for the remainder of the falls.


Atacama Desert

The Atacama Desert is located in primarily Chile and covers an area of 40,541 square miles (105,000 sq. km). It has an average rainfall of .6 inches per year (15mm)


Galapagos Islands

The Galápagos Islands are comprised of 21 islands, 18 considered significant in size, located in the Pacific Ocean off the coast of Ecuador. The islands and surrounding ocean waters create the Galápagos Province of Ecuador, the Galápagos National Park, and the Galapagos Marine Reserve.


Iguazu Falls

Iguazu Falls, also known as internationally as Iguassu Falls and locally as Iguacu Falls, is located on the border between Argentina and Brazil. The source of the falls is the Iguazu River.

salar de

Salar de Uyuni

Salar de Uyuni, also referred to as Salar de Tunupa, has the distinction of being the world’s largest salt flat. It is located in the southwest region of Bolivia with the Daniel Campos Province.

recent wonderwords: