Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What are the qualifications of a natural wonder?

A: The primary qualification is that a wonder of nature is just that completely natural.  For example, Mount Rushmore involves the splendor of a beautiful mountain peak, but it is the manipulation of that mountain creating the facial carvings that make it such a wonder.  It would not qualify.  Additionally, a natural wonder needs to be statistically and/or naturally unique.  Statistical factors that come into play may include characteristics such as height, width, and volume – but the focus is on unique wonder, beauty and amazement.

Q: How are the Original Seven Natural Wonders Represented?

A: The original seven natural wonders deserve their distinctive places as “The Seven Natural Wonders.”  Each wonder will serve as an ambassador to the seven natural wonders of each continent.  For example, Mount Everest will serve as the ambassador to the 7 Natural Wonders of Asia.

Q: How will the winners be determined?

There are two mechanisms for voting.The primary mechanism comes from experts in related fields. UNESCO counsels against any public voting because these types of campaigns are highly influenced by social marketing, marketing, and advertising efforts and do not reflect a true interest in determining the right 7.Such types of campaigns usually represent tourism or personal interest versus a collective representation.

The public voting will be used to complement the expert voting efforts.

Experts vote on ballot sheets provided to them directly.  The general public votes on the site.


A: The public voting is taking place on the site.  Each person is permitted up to 7 votes, but needs to vote for at least three on any given continent.  Singleton votes usually represent marketing or social networking efforts to try and influence one particular wonder.  The purpose is to elect the right 7 natural wonders.  It is imperative that you vote for 3 to 7 natural wonders on any given continent.

recent wonderwords: