okavango delta

okavango delta


The Okavango Deltas was officially declared as one of the 7 Natural Wonders of Africa February 11, 2013 in Arusha, Tanzania. Votes were cast by experts from around the world who noted the key statistical significance, uniqueness and splendor. Although there are two inland deltas in Africa that rival and possibly surpass Okavango Delta in size, they have been diminished with poaching and war. Okavango Delta is a protected area with an investment to protect the wildlife and her uniqueness for all to experience.

quick facts

  • Largest inland delta in the world
  • Created from seasonal flooding which peaks in July and August
  • Flat with less than 7 feet of variation
  • Under consideration for a World Heritage site


The Okavango Delta is argued as the world’s largest inland delta. The delta is created from the rains that fill the Okavango River which is delivered to the basin of the Kalahari Desert. This is caused from the rainy season that occurs between January and February. The waters begin filling the delta in March and rising to the peak months of July and August. The majority of water is lost to evaporation and transpiration. Plants and transpiration account for 60% of the water lost followed by evaporation with 36%. The delta is extremely flat with less that 7 feet (2 meters) of elevation change. Every year the delta features 11 cubic kilometers, or 11,000,000,000,000 liters, of water flow.

visitor tips