[well]Quick Facts:

  • Home to over 1,100 species of fish
  • Approximately 1 in 10 are exclusive to the area
  • The reef extends over 1,200 miles


Red Sea Reef

The Red Sea Reef stretches over 1,240 miles along the coast of Egypt, Sudan, and Eritrea. There are more than 1,100 species of fish that call this Red Sea Reef home and nearly 10% of these are exclusive to this region. The reef features include abundant aquatic life, platforms, lagoons, and cylinders.

7 Natural Wonders of Africa: Red Sea Reef

The Red Sea Reef was officially declared as one of the 7 Natural Wonders of Africa February 11, 2013 in Arusha, Tanzania. Votes were cast by experts from around the world who noted the key statistical significance. The Red Sea Reef is home to over 1,100 species of fish with approximately 10% being exclusive to the area. Factors that voters noted included being the largest reef related to Africa and the third largest reef system in the world, the significant percentage of species exclusive to the area, and the resilience of this reef system to the changing environment.

Best way to see the Red See Reef

The best way to see and experience the Red Sea Reef is through snorkeling and diving adventures. Egypt is the most popular access point for the reef, buy access is available through neighboring African countries as well as Israel and Jordan across the sea.

Reef systems are fragile and require care and protection. Although snorkeling and diving are the best ways to encounter the life of the reef, they are also one of the leading threats to the reef and the life that calls her home. It’s imperative that visitors take all precautions to experience the reef responsibly. Y ou can visit our Resource Page to learn more and access resources that serve and support the Red Sea Reef.

Endangered Species of Africa

The Red Sea Reef is home to 1,100 species of fish with 10% of those being exclusive to this reef system. It is imperative that we do everything possible to protect the Red Sea Reef and the life calling her home. There are 100’s of critically endangered species on every continent around the world. The wildlife, fauna, and flora are much of what makes the various wonders of nature special. The endangered species of Africa are one of Seven Natural Wonder’s greatest concerns. Take a moment and glance at some of the critically endangered wildlife.