[well]Quick Facts:

  • Largest inland delta in the world
  • Created from seasonal flooding which peaks in July and August
  • Flat with less than 7 feet of variation
  • Under consideration for a World Heritage site


7 Natural Wonders of Africa: Okavango Delta

The Okavango Deltas was officially declared as one of the 7 Natural Wonders of Africa February 11, 2013 in Arusha, Tanzania. Votes were cast by experts from around the world who noted the key statistical significance, uniqueness and splendor. Although there are two inland deltas in Africa that rival and possibly surpass Okavango Delta in size, they have been diminished with poaching and war. Okavango Delta is a protected area with an investment to protect the wildlife and her uniqueness for all to experience.

Okavango Delta

The Okavango Delta is argued as the world’s largest inland delta. The delta is created from the rains that fill the Okavango River which is delivered to the basin of the Kalahari Desert. This is caused from the rainy season that occurs between January and February. The waters begin filling the delta in March and rising to the peak months of July and August.

The majority of water is lost to evaporation and transpiration. Plants and transpiration account for 60% of the water lost followed by evaporation with 36%. The delta is extremely flat with less that 7 feet (2 meters) of elevation change. Every year the delta features 11 cubic kilometers, or 11,000,000,000,000 liters, of water flow. Visit our Okavango Delta Resource page to learn more about the delta and options for exploring this wonder of nature.

Where is the Okavango Delta

The Okavango Delta is located in the southern part of Africa in the country of Botswana. Botswana is found north of South Africa, south of Zambia, southwest of Zimbabwe, and east of Namibia. The Okavango Delta is located in the northern part of Botswana nestled in the basin of the Kalahari. The delta is just southwest of Chobe National Park.

Okavango Delta Wildlife

The Okavango Delta is an amazing home to a variety of wildlife. Some of the wildlife are seasonal following the rains while others call the area home year round. For visitors, safari goers and nature lovers it is a wildlife haven. Some of the wildlife that may be experienced include: giraffes, buffalos, hippos, rhinos, lions, and a variety of antelopes. The historical Big 5 along with 6 of Africa’s Big 7 can all be experienced in the Okavango Delta.

Those fascinated with predators will be glad to know that the delta is home to lions, cheetahs, leopards, hyenas, wild dogs, and crocodiles. Some of the more sought after creatures you may find include both the  black and white rhino, ostrich, hippo and the elephant.

The Okavango Delta is also a sanctuary for over 400 species of birds making this a great destination for bird watchers as well. Some of the birds that may be encountered include the ostrich, African Fish Eagle, Crested Crane, Lilac-Breasted Roller, among many other amazing birds.

Best way to see and experience Okavango Delta

Visitors to the Okavango Delta usually have one thing in mind and this  is viewing and experiencing wildlife. One unique way to experience the delta and view game is taking a hot air balloon ride over the basin. However, the greatest way to see the most wildlife comes from taking a safari game drive through the park. Another option is to take one of the canoe type options through the channels of the delta. Each of these provide unique and engaging ways to experience the wildlife of Okavango Delta. Visit our Resources page for more information.

Endangered Species of Africa

There are 100’s of critically endangered species on every continent around the world. The wildlife, fauna, and flora are much of what makes the various wonders of nature special. The endangered species of Africa are one of Seven Natural Wonder’s greatest concerns. Take a moment and glance at some of the critically endangered wildlife.