Victoria Falls

Victoria Falls Victoria Falls is the largest waterfall in the world. As one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World, Victoria Falls is honored to serve as the Ambassador to Africa’s Wonders of Nature. Congratulations to each of these deservedly named natural wonders of Africa.

On February 11, 2013, the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa were officially declared in Arusha, Tanzania. These wonders of nature were determined by insights from experts from around the world with a key focus on conservationists such as members of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature.

Read More

South Luangwa National Park

South Luangwa is one of the most renowned game reserves in both Zambia and all of Africa. The park features large populations of giraffe, elephant and buffalo. The Luangwa River is also home to large populations of hippos and crocodiles. The park used to be home to rhinos but they have been poached to extinction from the area.


Lower Zambezi National Park

Lower Zambezi NP encompasses 1,580 square miles (4,092 sq km) and is Zambia’s newest national parks. As such a young national park, it is less developed and makes for even a more natural experience with nature. The park is located across the river from the Mana Pools in Zimbabwe and is a notable wildlife haven.

Kafue National Park

Encompassing 8,649 square miles (22,400 sq km), Kafue is Zambia’s largest national park. This national park is also the second largest park in all of Africa. Overall, Kafue is characterized by savanna grasslands with islands of rock outcrops and trees across the savanna. The northern grasslands flood during the rainy season but then become a haven for antelope.


Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park

Although the park is home to Victoria Falls, this national park is a true Zambian wonder of nature. The park encompasses 25 square miles (66 sq km) with the park running from the gorge of the falls along the river bank of the Zambezi River. Mosi-oa-Tunya is the only national park in all of Zambia where explorers can encounter a white rhino.

North Luangwa National Park

North Luangwa National Park is another new park area for Zambia. Similarly to Lower Zambezi, it is less developed. It is quite a bit more rugged wilderness and less developed as compared to its sister South Luangwa. The remoteness and ruggedness requires that only special guide services are used to go in and explore this wonder of nature.


Lake Tanganyika

Lake Tanganyika is actually a shared wonder of nature with other countries that include Burundi, Tanzania, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Unfortunately for Zambia, the majority of the lake calls Tanzania and the DRC as home. The lake extends 420 miles ( 676 km) north and south and is approximately 31 miles (50 km) wide.