Seven Natural Wonders of Africa

Experts from around the world cast their votes based on statistical and traditional significance along with uniqueness and pure splendor. The final votes have been cast and Africa is closed. The winners were declared 11 February 2013 in Arusha, Tanzania.

Please visit 7 Natural Wonders of Africa to see the winners.

Africa has been revealed. Which continent should be next? Learn more about the Declaration Schedule.

Aldabra Atoll

Largest atoll in Africa and second largest in the world. Home to the largest population of giant tortoises.

Avenue of the Baobabs

Also referred to as upside down trees, they can be 98 feet high with a diameter of 36 feet. Reported to be over 800 years old.

Mount Kenya

Mount Kenya is the second tallest mountain in Africa and features three peaks over 16,000 feet.

Mount Kilimanjaro

The largest mountain in Africa and the largest free standing mountain in the world. Seven different peaks and features a 1.5 mile wide crater.

Ngorongoro Crater

Largest unbroken caldera in the world measuring 12 miles across. This "Garden of Eden" is home to over 30,000 animals including the rare black rhino.

Nile River

7 Natural Wonders of Africa: Nile River The Nile River was officially declared as one of the 7 Natural Wonders […]

Okavango Delta

Okavango Delta, located in Botswana, is the largest inland delta in the world.

Peak of the Furnace

Currently one of the most active volcanoes in the world. The caldera is 5 miles wide and features a lava shield, craters, spatter cones, and beaches.

Red Sea Reef

Stretching over 1,200 miles this reef is home to over 1,100 species of fish of which approximately 1 in 10 are exclusive to the area.

Sahara Desert

The Sahara desert is the world's largest hot desert and houses many natural features which could be deemed as Wonders themselves.


7 Natural Wonders of Africa: Serengeti Migration The Serengeti is not one of the 7 natural wonders of Africa, but […]

Serengeti Migration

The longest and largest overland migration in the world. The Serengeti spans over 18,640 square miles

Tsingy de Bemaraha

Intriguing landforms and unique geography accompanied by mangrove forests and a large lemur population.

Zuma Rock

Large monolith located in Niger recognized by the naturally occurring face that appears on the side.

Seven Natural Wonders is global grassroots endeavor committed to protecting the natural wonders of the world. The mission is to help people discover and explore the natural wonders of the world, to teach them about the wonders and the things that threaten their existence, and to inspire them to create a philosophy and practice of conservation.