nile river

nile river


The Nile River was officially declared as one of the 7 Natural Wonders of Africa February 11, 2013 in Arusha, Tanzania. Votes were cast by experts from around the world who noted the key statistical significance. The Nile River is the longest river in the world stretching 4,132 miles (6,650 km) while crossing 10 countries in northern Africa.

quick facts

  • Longest river in the world stretching 4,132 miles (6,650 km)
  • Traverses across 10 countries
  • Mouth of the river is in Egypt
  • Two Sources with one in Uganda and the other in Ethiopia


The Nile River is located in northern Africa spanning across 10 countries that include Uganda, Ethiopia, Sudan, South Sudan, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and ending in Egypt as it feeds into the Mediterranean Sea.

The Nile River is the longest river in the world beating out the Amazon by 155 Feet. The Nile is considered to have two sources of which one originates in Uganda and the other in Ethiopia. Upon receiving the official recognition as a natural wonder, Uganda Minister of Tourism declared the source as a protected area. Uganda is also home to Murchison Falls which is an incredible waterfall on the Nile. The tremendous Nile River forces its way between narrow canyon walls to create the thunderous Murchison Falls.

Much of the Nile River meanders through the Sahara Desert as it makes its way north towards the Mediterranean. The Nile starts with two sources in the south and finishes with two branches as it splits as it completes the journey in Egypt. The west branch is known as Rosetta whereas the east is called Damietta. This area is known as the Nile Delta.

visitor tips