Victoria Falls Victoria Falls is the largest waterfall in the world. As one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World, Victoria Falls is honored to serve as the Ambassador to Africa’s Wonders of Nature. Congratulations to each of these deservedly named natural wonders of Africa.

On February 11, 2013, the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa were officially declared in Arusha, Tanzania. These wonders of nature were determined by insights from experts from around the world with a key focus on conservationists such as members of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature.

red sea reef

The Red Sea Reef is the largest coral reef connected to Africa and the third largest reef in the world. The reef is home to over 1,100 species of fish with approximately 10% being exclusive to this reef area. Stretching over 1,200 miles, you are encouraged to learn more about the Red Sea Reef.

read more

location: Coast of Egypt, Sudan and Eritrea

other facts: Home to over 1,100 species of fish, reef extends over 1,200 miles

mount kilimanjaro

Mount Kilimanjaro is the tallest mountain in Africa and tallest free standing mountain in the world. Reaching over 19,000 feet in the air, it is easy to understand why Mount Kilimanjaro is the pinnacle wonder of nature for Africa. Learn more about Mount Kilimanjaro.

read more

location: Tanzania

other facts: Tallest free standing mountain in the world. Seven different peaks with Uhuru Peak being the highest

sahara desert

Expanding over 10 countries and a land area that is comparable to the United States, the Sahara Desert is the largest dry desert in the world. This amazing desert is also recognized as the hottest place on earth. Learn more about the Sahara Desert.

read more

location: Spans 11 different countries

other facts: Largest hot desert in the world, Sand dunes as high as 600 feet (180 meters)

Serengeti migration

Featuring over 1.2 million wildebeest, over 800,000 zebra, and thousand of gazelle, the Serengeti Migration is the largest land migration in the world. The wonder of nature is shared between Tanzania and Kenya and is one of the most spectacular wildlife feats. Learn more about the Serengeti Migration.

read more

location: Tanzania and Kenya

other facts: Spans 18,641.1 square miles (30,000 sq km), longest and largest over land migration in the world

Ngorongoro Crater

Ngorongoro Crater is the largest unbroken caldera in the world. It is often considered the Garden of Eden of Africa or the Cradle of Life. Home to 5 of the Big 7 and many other animals, Ngorongoro Crater serves as an intimate encounter with nature. Learn more about Ngorongoro Crater.

read more

location: Tanzania

other facts: Largest unbroken caldera in the world

nile river

The Nile River is the longest river in the world. Although meandering through 10 countries, Egypt is frequently the country most associated with the river. However Uganda is home to the source and Murchison Falls which are fascinating parts of the Nile. Learn more about the Nile River.

read more

location: Spans across 10 Countries

other facts: It is the longest river in the world stretching 4,132 miles (6,650 km)

Okavango Delta

Okavango Delta is argued as the largest inland delta in the world. Although two other inland deltas in Africa rivalry the size, Okavango is the only delta that has not been ruined with war and poaching. Six of the Big 7 and other wildlife call Okavango Delta home. Learn more about Okavango Delta.

read more

location: Botswana

other facts: Largest inland delta in the world. Created from seasonal flooding which peaks in July and August

Share The Seven Natural Wonders Of Africa

Celebrate the 7 Natural Wonders of Africa by sharing this page with your readers. The code below is free and makes it easy for you to display this page on your blog or site. Congratulations to all the winners.